Welcome to E-Books Directory
This is a freely downloadable e-book.

Pioneers of Science

Pioneers of Science
by Oliver Lodge

Publisher: Macmillan and co 1905
Number of pages: 421

A collection of 28 lectures on the history and progress of astronomy: Copernicus and the motion of the Earth; Tycho Brahe and the earliest observatory; Kepler and the laws of planetary motion; Galileo and the invention of the telescope; Sir Isaac Newton; Roemer and Bradley and the velocity of light; Herschel and the motion of the fixed stars; Bessel, the distances of the stars and the discovery of the stellar planets; discovery of Neptune; tides and planetary evolution.

Download or read it online here:

Download link

 (32MB, PDF)